This section of the guide is out of date.
Freedom2Roam has now been released and replaces RAv3. Guidance on configuring Freedom2Roam is available here.
To enable you to easily manage your Remote Access users you will need to set up user groups and define the locations that a group can access. A group should be used to contain all users who can access the same resources.
When you enter the Remote Access Resources interface, your LA will be displayed (greyed-out) at the top and your school will appear below. If you have Remote Access permissions for more than one school, they will appear in a dropdown list.
The first time you use this interface, all fields will be blank and you will need to begin by creating a group.
The DNS settings box will always be visible. These settings apply to the entire school rather than any particular group. The DNS settings only need to be configured if you are going to need to enable advanced networking for a user. If not, the DNS settings are not needed. Even for users with advanced networking enabled, local DNS settings are an option rather than a requirement.
If you have multiple domains, please enter them all into the DNS suffix textbox. In order to work, they must be separated by commas. Spaces can be used or not - either way will be accepted.
For details on how the DNS settings are used see the AnyConnect page.
To create a new group, enter a name for that group in the Group
Name box and click on Create Group. The name can be changed later if needed.
This creates an empty group. You will then need to add users into the group you've created.
Once you create one or more groups, they will be listed on the main screen when you access the Remote access resources page in ascending Priority number. This is explained below in the Group properties section.
Priority
When a group is created, it is assigned a Priority level automatically. This automatically assigned priority number then needs to be manually changed to reflect the group's true priority.
The concept of prioritising groups is as follows:
A group that has the greatest degree of access (ICT staff, for example) should ideally have the most stringent security requirements for logging in. The group containing this level of users should then ideally be made the highest priority group with the most stringent login requirements (ie with an OTP tag).
The next priority group should contain users who have slightly less access and/or a lower level of security required for logging in. Each subsequent group should contain users who have the same or lower security requirements.
The highest Priority is zero with each subsequent number having a lower Priority.
If all your users are placed only in a single group, the Priority setting will not matter.
This setting only becomes relevant when one user is a member of more than one group and these groups have different security (authentication) requirements. For further details see setting the group authentication requirements.
Group ID
A Group ID is automatically given to each group that is created. The number itself is not relevant to your settings.
The only time the Group ID will be needed is if you are reporting a problem with the group to the Service Desk, in which case providing the Group ID number will allow support engineers to locate the correct group easily.
|
The group name is for your own identification purposes only. It does not affect any settings.
You can change the name of the group at any time by clicking the Edit Name link to the left of a group's name. You can then enter a new name in the white box and click Update on the left to save. If you decide not to keep your changes click Cancel.
You can change the group name as many times as you like.
If you no longer need a particular group, it can be deleted by clicking on Del (Delete) to the left of the group number.
|
See next:
Add users to a group
Define authentication requirements
Specify available resources
Allow full remote access